Potterheads Unite

Reviews / Friday, April 17th, 2015

harry potter books

   Title: Harry Potter series (7 books)
  Author: J.K. Rowling
  Genre: Fantasy, Teen
  Quotation: “People find it far easier to forgive people for being wrong than being right.” -Dumbledore, “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”
  Would recommend to: anyone — kids, teenagers and adults can find something in these books to connect with and love

If you haven’t heard of Harry Potter, you must be living under a rock. From best-selling books to award winning movies, Harry Potter is everywhere (he even has his own theme park).

In my humble opinion, these books are one of the best series of my generation.  They contain fantasy, mystery, knowledge, romance and glory. It’s a series that transcends time with its relatable characters and meaningful lessons. With a slew of characters ranging from heroes you love, villains you love to hate and evil-doers you want to hate but can’t help loving (Malfoy, anyone?), the Harry Potter series has a favorite for everyone.

When I’m in a bad mood, the first book I grab is from the Harry Potter series (typically the first or the sixth). All I want to do is read it from cover to cover. The story reminds me that I am not alone in my struggles, and I can overcome all obstacles thrown my way. Some people turn to the Bible or their friends in times of need; I turn to Harry.

For those of you who have not even read a page of these books or had the pleasure of being the friend of a “Potterhead” here is a general overview of the seven books:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Harry discovers he is a wizard and embarks on his first year of wizarding school at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He becomes best friends with Hermione Granger and Ronald Weasley. Harry uncovers the treasures of this magical world such as Quidditch, dragons, and charms. He learns the truth about his parents’ death, himself, and the evil Lord Voldemort, from whom he escaped and seemingly killed when he was only one year old with a backfired killing curse. But Lord Voldy may not be as gone as everyone seems to think.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: In his second year at Hogwarts, the evil descendent of Salazar Slytherin, an ancient wizard of Hogwarts, opens the Chamber of Secrets and begins to attack muggle-borns- students with magical abilities but non-magical parents. Harry, Ron and Hermione must find who is behind these attacks and put a stop to them or face the reality of the closing of Hogwarts for good.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: During this gripping book, Harry discovers the truth about who betrayed his parents and led them to their deaths on the night Harry survived. He must choose between avenging his mother and father’s deaths or learning about their history and friendships.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Harry is once again thrust into the experience of a lifetime when he is picked to participate in the Triwizard Tournament, a dangerous championship that requires skill and bravery. He must battle dragons, fight mermaids, and ultimately face his enemies one more time.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: In the fifth book of the series, Harry faces the problems of anger and rage that come with adolescence as he battles feelings of betrayal and figures out the person he wants to become. A new villain is introduced as the wizarding trio enter their final years of school.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince: As the books come to a close, Harry begins to find out the truth about Voldemort and what happened on that fateful night when Harry survived the killing curse that backfired. He discovers a knack for potions from an unlikely friend and forges a unique bond with his headmaster as he battles his way through his sixth year at Hogwarts.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: In the final book of the series, the battle of Hogwarts rages. On a search to defeat Lord Voldemort, Harry, Ron, and Hermione discover more about themselves and their friendship than they expected. They battle witches, wizards, Death Eaters, curses and more on their quest. Harry also faces Voldemort for a final time and readers will never guess the outcome of the mind-boggling series.

Each of these books has a message that young adults can relate to. It’s not just the large battle of good versus evil or learning to fly on a broomstick. Author J.K. Rowling manages to incorporate the struggle of late nights spent on homework and unrequited love, as well.  As a young-adult grows up, Harry, Hermione, and Ron grow with them. These books have a message of family and love that no other books can touch, and they will remain popular well into their 50th year of circulation, in my opinion.

I strongly encourage you to pick up “The Sorcerer’s Stone” today and give it a chance. If you have already ready them, read them again. I always learn something new when re-reading a Harry Potter book due to the care and creativity Rowling employed when writing these books.

The lessons behind Harry Potter are never truly complete, and that’s the magic of it.

Happy reading,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *